Brisbane’s Students Are Outstanding

By: David J. Canepa serves on the San Mateo County Board of Supervisors representing District 5, 650-363-4572

I was delighted to be the featured speaker at the Brisbane Chamber of Commerce 2018 Annual Awards Reception as it honored some the city’s outstanding school students, the city’s educator of the year and scholarship recipients who attend schools in the Jefferson Union High School District and nearby charter and private high schools.
The Excellence in Education Awards May 23 honored one fifth grader graduating from both Brisbane and Panorama elementary schools and two graduates from Lipman Middle School.
The Brisbane Chamber of Commerce also collects donations throughout the year from the business community and individuals to the tune of thousands and thousands of dollars a year to be awarded as scholarships for college bound students.
It is always excellent to see kids and teens being celebrated for their academic achievements and the awesome smiles on their parents’ faces as they beam with pride.
This year’s outstanding fifth grader from Brisbane Elementary is Anna Zavodnik and Julio Molina is Panorama’s outstanding fifth grader. Both are incredibly deserving of the honor as they hit the books hard this past year to excel academically.
The outstanding Lipman Middle School students for 2018 are Michael Co and Zuzu Lorentzen. They are both poised to have excellent high school experiences.
Janine Lee, Brisbane Elementary School’s fifth grade teacher was honored as outstanding teacher of the year. Janine has been a positive force for Brisbane’s children for many years now. She was previously awarded an Excursion Grant for her students by the Philanthropic Venture Foundation to attend the Chabot Space and Science Center’s Challenger Learner Center: Voyage to Mars. She encourages her students to solve real-life problems using math, scientific analysis and technology. She is truly outstanding.
I look as Anna, Julio, Michael and Zuzu as just four examples of the many hundreds of students in Brisbane who work hard every day to reach their life’s potentials.
Ms. Lee too is just one of many outstanding teachers in the district. I am grateful for all they do.
This year’s scholarship winners are Brianna Abney and Svea Listmann from Terra Nova High School in Pacifica; Malcolm Barnes, Luke Conti and Zachary Hui from Shasta Charter High School in Daly City; Brianna Castaneda from Christian Brothers High School in Sacramento; Ida Funke from French-American High School in San Francisco; Nelson Guanzon from Serra High School in San Mateo; Kyra Lemmelin from Mercy High School in San Francisco; Nichika O’Malley from Design Tech High School in Redwood City; Ariana Margate from Oceana High School in Pacifica; and Joseph Sid from Westmoor High School in Daly City.
I want to thank the chamber’s President and CEO Mitch Bull for putting this event together. It was truly and outstanding evening.
David J. Canepa serves on the San Mateo County Board of Supervisors representing District 5.

No Comments